Martins Blog

Trying to explain complex things in simple terms

AIM SIG and my talk about Enterprise Manager 12c

Posted by Martin Bach on March 15, 2012

Yesterday I presented at UKOUG’s Availability, Infrastructure and Management Special Interest Group (hey, say this 3 times in a row, quickly!) about Oracle Enterprise Manager 12c and my experience with it. As my good fried Piet de Visser pointed out I had way too much to say for the 45 minute slot allocated. But then Piet always tells me that. Sadly he is also often right :) That’s why I like seeing him during my talks!

In summary I would have liked to do a different presentation, and that’s for two reasons: 1) I overran and 2) I haven’t managed to show the patching part which is hugely interesting, at least to me.

Now here’s the reason for the blog post. I haven’t done online seminars yet, and was wondering if people were interested in a 1-1.5 hour UKOUG-like presentation from myself, broadcast via Goto Meeting or similar to an audience. Would that be of interest? The topics to be covered are:

  • Thinking about the installation of OEM 12c including HA and other deployment options
  • Walking through the installation using print screens (it takes too long and I would bore you showing a slow moving progress bar)
  • Demo time, i.e. logging on to the system and showing a few things

For the interactive part I’d

  • show the new user interface
  • walk through the agent push
  • demonstrate how to add a target
  • and finally guide you through the patching process

I prefer this to be interactive (technology permitting), with a timescale of 1 to 1.5 hours and a Q&A session at the end. I will try to set something up if there is sufficient interest.

WARNING & disclaimer

I’m not an expert in OEM 12c! I installed it, played with it and can show you what I know.

4 Responses to “AIM SIG and my talk about Enterprise Manager 12c”

  1. Wissem said

    I’am in Martin, Let me know when and how to access.

  2. Doug Burns said

    Hey, mister, just you wind your neck in a little! See my comment here

    http://www.rittmanmead.com/2012/03/rittman-mead-at-the-hotsos-symposium-2012-dallas/

    As long as you stay clear of ‘my’ ASH Analytics, we can still be friends ;-)

    See you in Norway

    • Martin Bach said

      Then I think we’re fine. I’m currently doing a lot more infrastructure than performance work as you know, so you can have the ASH analytics all to yourself :) And I’m not planning on doing this as a massive event, maybe up to 25 attendees.

      See you next week!

  3. Stalin said

    That would nice Martin. Looking forward to it.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
