Martins Blog

Trying to explain complex things in simple terms

Installing Oracle Linux 6 as a domU in Xen

Posted by Martin Bach on April 1, 2011

Update: Please consider the context of the article-it was written in April 2011! The post refers to OpenSuSE 11.x, my current system uses OpenSusE 12.3 and the below problems of virt-manager appear to be solved. virt-manager however will perform similar steps as these under the covers.

Introduction

Despite all recent progress in other virtualisation technologies I am staying faithful to Xen. The reason is simple: it works for me. Paravirtualised domUs are the fastest way to run virtual machines on hardware that doesn’t support virtualisation in the processor.

I read about cgroups yesterday, a feature that’s appeared in kernel 2.6.38 and apparently was back-ported into RedHat 6. Unfortunately I can’t get hold of a copy, so I decided to use Oracle’s clone instead. I wanted to install the new domU on my existing lab environment which is a 24G RAM core i7 920 system with 1.5TB of storage. The only limitation I can see is the low number of cores, I wish I could rent an Opteron 6100 series system instead (for the same price).


Creating the domU

The first setback was the failure of virt-manager. Virt Manager is OpenSuSE’s preferred too to create xen virtual machines. I wrote about virt-manager and OpenSuSE 11.2 some time ago and went back to this post for instructions. However, the logic coded into the application doesn’t seem to handle OL6, it repeatedly failed to start the PV kernel. I assume the directory structure on the ISO has changed or some other configuration issue here, maybe even a PEBKC.

That was a bit of a problem, because it meant I had to do the legwork all on my own. Thinking about it virt-manager is not to blame really, OL6 wasn’t yet released when the tool came out. So be it, at least I’ll learn something new today. To start with, I needed to create a new “disk” to contain my root volume group. The way the dom0 is set up doesn’t allow me to use LVM logical volumes – all the space is already allocated. My domUs are all stored in /var/lib/xen/images/domUName. I started of by creating the top level directory for my new OL6 reference domU:

# mkdir /var/lib/xen/images/ol6

Inside the directory I created the sparse file for my first “disk”:

# cd /var/lib/xen/images/ol6
# dd if=/dev/zero of=disk0 bs=1024k seek=8192 count=0

This will create a sparse file (much like a temp file in Oracle) for use as my first virtual disk. The next step was to extract the kernel and initial ramdisk from the ISO image and store it somewhere convenient. My default location for xen kernels is /m/xenkernels/domUName. The new kernel is a PVOPS kernel (but still not dom0 capable!) so copying it from a loopback mounted ISO image’s isolinux/vmlinuz location was enough. There is also only one initrd to copy. You should get them into the xen kernel location as shown here:

# mkdir /m/xenkernels/ol6
# cp /mnt/ol6/isolinux/{initrd.img,vmlinuz} /m/xenkernels/ol6

Next, I copied the contents of the ISO image to /var/srw/www/htdocs/ol6.

We now need a configuration file to start the domU initially. The below config file worked for me-I have deliberately not chosen a libvirt compatible XML file to keep the example simple. We’ll convert to xenstore later ….

cat /tmp/rhel6ref
name="rhel6ref"
memory=1024
maxmem=4096
vcpus=2
on_poweroff="destroy"
on_reboot="restart"
on_crash="destroy"
localtime=0
builder="linux"
bootargs=""
extra=" "
disk=[ 'file:/var/lib/xen/images/rhel6ref/disk0,xvda,w', ]
vif=[ 'mac=00:16:1e:1b:1d:ef,bridge=br1', ]
vfb=['type=vnc,vncdisplay=11']
kernel = "/m/xenkernels/ol6/vmlinuz"
ramdisk = "/m/xenkernels/ol6/initrd.img"

As I am forwarding the VNC port I needed a fixed one. In my putty session I forwarded local port 5911 to my dom0’s port 5911. Now start the domU using the xm create /tmp/rhel6ref command. Within a few seconds you should be able to point your vncviewer to localhost:11 and connect to the domU. That’s all! From now on the installation is really just a matter of “next”, “next”, “next”. Some things have changed though, have a look at these selected screenshots.

Walking through the installation

First of all you need to configure the network for the domU to talk to your staging server. I always use a manual configuration, and configure IPv4 only. The URL setup is interesting-I used http://dom0/ol6 as the repository and got further. When in doubt, check the access and error logs in /var/log/apache2

After the welcome screen I was greeted with a message stating that my xen-vbd-xxx device had to be reinitialised. Huh? But ok, so I did that and progressed. I then entered the hostname and got to the partitioning screen. I chose to “use all space” and ticked the box next to “review and modify partitioning layout”. Remember that ext4 is now the default for all file systems, but OpenSuSE’s pygrub can’t read it. The important step is to ensure that you have a separate /boot partition outside any LVM devices, and that it’s formatted with ext2. The ext3 file system might also work, but I decided to stick with ext2 which I knew pygrub could deal with. I also tend to rename my volume group to rootvg, instead vg_hostname as the installer suggests.

The VNC interface now became a little bit difficult to use when being asked to select a timezone, I deferred that to later. I ran into a bit of a problem when it came to the package selection screen. Suddenly the installer, which happily read all data from my apache setup, claimed it couldn’t read the repodata.xml file. I thought that was strange but then manually pointed it to the Server/repodata/repomd.xml file and clicked on the install button. Unfortunately the installer now couldn’t read the first package. The reason was quickly identified in the access log

192.168.99.124 - - [01/Apr/2011:14:01:42 +0200] "GET /ol6/Server/Packages/alsa-utils-1.0.21-3.el6.x86_64.rpm HTTP/1.1" 403 1036 "-" "Oracle Linux Server (anaconda)/6.0"
192.168.99.124 - - [01/Apr/2011:14:03:10 +0200] "GET /ol6/Server/Packages/alsa-utils-1.0.21-3.el6.x86_64.rpm HTTP/1.1" 403 1036 "-" "Oracle Linux Server (anaconda)/6.0"

HTTP 403 errors (i.e. FORBIDDEN). They were responsible for the problem with the repomd.xml file as well:

192.168.99.124 - - [01/Apr/2011:14:00:53 +0200] "GET /ol6/repodata/repomd.xml HTTP/1.1" 403 1036 "-" "Oracle Linux Server (anaconda)/6.0"

The reason for these could be found in the error log:

[Fri Apr 01 14:00:53 2011] [error] [client 192.168.99.124] Symbolic link not allowed or link target not accessible: /srv/www/htdocs/ol6/repodata

Oha.Where do these come from? Fair enough, the directory structure has changed:

[root@dom0 /srv/www/htdocs/ol6] # ls -l repodata
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 15 Apr  1 14:09 repodata -> Server/repodata

Now then, because this is my lab and I’m solely responsible for its security, I change the Options in my apache’s server root to FollowSymLinks.Do not do this in real life! Create a separate directory, or alias, and don’t compromise your server root. Enough said …

A reload of the apache2 daemon fixed that problem, but I had to start from scratch. This time however it ran through without problems.

Cleaning Up

When the installer prompts you for a reboot, don’t click on the “OK” button just yet. The configuration file needs to be changed to use the bootloader pygrub. Change the configuration file to something similar to this:

# cat /tmp/rhel6ref
name="rhel6ref"
memory=1024
maxmem=4096
vcpus=2
on_poweroff="destroy"
on_reboot="restart"
on_crash="destroy"
localtime=0
builder="linux"
bootargs=""
extra=" "
disk=[ 'file:/var/lib/xen/images/rhel6ref/disk0,xvda,w', ]
vif=[ 'mac=00:16:1e:1b:1d:ef,bridge=br1', ]
vfb=['type=vnc,vncdisplay=11']
bootloader = "pygrub"

The only change is the replacement of the kernel and ramdisk lines with bootloader. You may have to xm destroy the VM for the change to take effect, a reboot doesn’t seem to trigger a reparse of the configuration file.

With that done, restart the VM and enjoy the final stages of the configuration. If your domU doesn’t start now, you probably forgot to format /boot with ext2 and it is ext4. In that case you have to do some research on google whether or not you can save your installation.

The result is a new Oracle Linux reference machine!

# ssh root@192.168.99.124
The authenticity of host '192.168.99.124 (192.168.99.124)' can't be established.
RSA key fingerprint is 3d:90:d5:ef:33:e1:15:f8:eb:4a:38:15:cd:b9:f1:7e.
Are you sure you want to continue connecting (yes/no)? yes
Warning: Permanently added '192.168.99.124' (RSA) to the list of known hosts.
root@192.168.99.124's password:
[root@rhel6ref ~]# cat /etc/redhat-release
Red Hat Enterprise Linux Server release 6.0 (Santiago)
[root@rhel6ref ~]# uname -a
Linux rhel6ref.localdomain 2.6.32-100.28.5.el6.x86_64 #1 SMP Wed Feb 2 18:40:23 EST
2011 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

If you want, you can register the domU in xenstore-while the domU is up and running, dump the XML file using virsh dumpxml > /tmp/ol6.xml. My configuration file looked like this:

<domain type="xen">
 <name>ol6ref</name>
 <uuid>530c97e6-3c23-ec9f-d65b-021a79d61585</uuid>
 <memory>4194304</memory>
 <currentMemory>1048576</currentMemory>
 <vcpu>2</vcpu>
 <bootloader>/usr/bin/pygrub</bootloader>
 <os>
 <type>linux</type>
 <cmdline> </cmdline>
 </os>
 <clock offset='utc'/>
 <on_poweroff>destroy</on_poweroff>
 <on_reboot>restart</on_reboot>
 <on_crash>destroy</on_crash>
 <devices>
 
 <disk type='file' device='disk'>
 <driver name='file'/>
 <source file="/var/lib/xen/images/rhel6ref/disk0" />
 <target dev='xvda' bus='xen'/>
 </disk>
 <interface type='bridge'>

 <source bridge='br1'/>
 <target dev='vif179.0'/>
 </interface>

 <target port='0'/>
 </console>
 <input type='mouse' bus='xen'/>
 </devices>
</domain>

Shut the domU down and register it using a call to “virsh define /tmp/ol6.xml”. Subsequent editing can be done using “virsh edit ol6”.

2 Responses to “Installing Oracle Linux 6 as a domU in Xen”

  1. […] really changed much since 5.x. All I did was to install the database server package group. I wrote this article for fans of xen-based para-virtualisation. Although initially for 6.0, it applies equally for 6.1. […]

  2. Guy Rouillier said

    Thanks very much for posting these instructions. I wanted to install OL6 to host Oracle 11g database. I followed your instructions with some changes, since I have free space on my LVM, so I wanted boot, root and swap in separate logical volumes. Lastly, after some searching and reading, I discovered that I could install directly from the mounted ISO file. I mounted the ISO file so I could directly reference the kernel and initrd.img file:

    kernel = ‘/mnt/oraclelinux6/isolinux/vmlinuz’
    ramdisk = ‘/mnt/oraclelinux6/isolinux/initrd.img’

    disk = [
    ‘phy:/dev/dell-vg/oraclelinux-boot,xvda,rw’,
    ‘phy:/dev/dell-vg/oraclelinux-swap,xvdb,rw’,
    ‘phy:/dev/dell-vg/oraclelinux-root,xvdc,rw’,
    ‘file:/data/OracleLinux-R6-U5-Server-x86_64-dvd.iso,hdd:cdrom,r’
    ]

    boot = ‘dd’

    vfb = [‘type=vnc, vncpasswd=foo, vnclisten=127.0.0.1, vncdisplay=5’ ]

    With this configuration file, I was able to attach to vnc on the Xen server (only, since vnclisten is set to localhost), and proceed through the graphical install. When the installer got to partition selection, it presented me with all 3 drives, and I was able to assign the desired mount points.

    For those who find this article via search, do *not* format these volumes beforehand; the installer wants empty volumes. Also, make sure your cdrom device has a unique device name, including a unique final letter. Following other examples, I originally had used hdc; when I got to partitioning during installation, the root volume xvdc was not available. When I switched the cdrom to hdd and reran the installer, the xvdc was now available. That surprised me; I would have thought xvdc and hdc were distinct devices, but apparently not.

Leave a Reply

 
