Martins Blog

Trying to explain complex things in simple terms

Co-authoring Pro Oracle RAC 11g on Linux

Posted by Martin Bach on March 30, 2010

I am very happy to announce that I have the great honor to co-author the new edition of the successful Pro Oracle Database 10g RAC on Linux: Installation, Administration, and Performance. The first edition, Pro Oracle RAC 10g on Linux was my main reference when installing, configuration and maintaining RAC on Linux (my preferred platform). It contains all the topic and a bit more I needed to properly get started with RAC and also contained some advice about things that didn’t work quite as advertised by Oracle.

I am contributing four chapters to the book, dealing with RAC architecture, RAC concepts, Workload management and an introduction. Quite a bit of work to be done, but well worth it. Maybe I’ll get into the whole authoring business a bit more :) I am hoping to continue the successful tradition of the 10g version of the book bringing some of the more exciting Oracle 11g Release 2 features into play and also provide a readable book that can be used as an introduction to the topic as well as a reference for experienced database administrators.

I signed the contract yesterday and await it to be countersigned by Apress where the book is going to be published. Once that’s done, I can crack on.

5 Responses to “Co-authoring Pro Oracle RAC 11g on Linux”

  1. Philipp said

    Congratulation :)

  2. jarneil said

    Hello Martin,

    Congratulations! It is without doubt the RAC bible.

    I’m looking forward to reading it.

    jason.

  3. Luca said

    Congratulations Martin and good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

 
